I-BMW.com I-BMW.com

Welcome to the I-BMW.com forums! - You're currently viewing as a limited access guest. By joining our free member supported community, you'll gain access to post/ reply, communicate privately with other members (PM), or globally via "real time chat", respond to polls, upload photos, post classifieds etc. Membership is fast so, Register @ the Ultimate Sport Touring Portal!
Should you not receive an email with activation link, check your SPAM settings or please contact us and include the ID/ email address you registered with.

Go Back   I-BMW.com > BMW K-1300 Series Motorcycles > K1300S > "K13S/R" Technical Q&A
User Name
Password
Home Register Gallery Classifieds FAQ Members List Calendar Donate Mark Forums Read

"K13S/R" Technical Q&A K1200S/R Technical Questions/Answers

Vendor Sign Up | Want to see your name in neon blue? | Want a neat reflective sticker for your ride?!

Reply
 
Thread Tools.. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2017, 10:01 PM
Andynj Andynj is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 198 Thanks: 12
Thanked 64 Times in 44 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
K1300s Front Brake Switch

Got hold of a Brembo front master cylinder and thinking of fitting it to the K13s, just scoping out the install and wondering if I need to worry about the brake light switch. Where is it on the k13s does not seem to be integrated into the master cylinder, is it activated from the brake line pressure downstream somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2017, 10:17 PM
jargon's Avatar
jargon jargon is offline
Deplorable and Still Rides
Post: 9,173 Thanks: 6,059
Thanked 2,781 Times in 2,053 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NJ, U S A
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

Isn't it in the brake lever mechanism?
__________________
John

Don’t confuse me for someone who Gives a Fuck

‘Narcissism is the gift for the unhappy few.’ Unknown


Current Bikes-The Perfect Combination
'15 R12GSAW 'The I-BMW Pussy Bike'
'09 K1300S 'fits me like a glove' with Wilbers
Handy Motorcycle Lift

Past Bikes
'04 K1200RS with Ohlins (traded for GSA)
'11 F800R (traded for GSA)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2017, 10:19 PM
Andynj Andynj is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 198 Thanks: 12
Thanked 64 Times in 44 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

Hey Jargon,

That's what I would have thought but I can't see any wiring coming from the brake lever....

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2017, 10:44 PM
Beech's Avatar
Beech Beech is online now
I-BMW Rider of the Year 2016
Post: 6,565 Thanks: 1,627
Thanked 1,541 Times in 1,180 Posts
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: mount vernon, WA usa
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

https://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fi...png?v=07242017
Item #9, it's in there. I is a part of the ABS system so be sure it works as needed.
__________________
Beech Arriba, Abajo, Al Centro, Adentro
Mount Vernon Cannon Works
K1300S
S1000R
I need a Vespa
I change your tires, you buy them on the web, I do the work $40, trying to keep riders on the road.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2017, 02:03 AM
Patrique83's Avatar
Patrique83 Patrique83 is online now
Site Contributor
Post: 572 Thanks: 59
Thanked 289 Times in 186 Posts
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

There is no brake light switch on K1300 bikes.... (07-08 K1200 / 09-xx K1300)
Not at the handlebar or the footpedal.

The I-ABS 2 Unit has a built in pressure switch that senses when you pull on the
Lever or step on the Footpedal. The ABS then sends a digital signal to the ZFE unit and tells it to turn the brake light on.

Only K1200s 05-06 with servo assisted brakes had a microswitch at the handlebar/footpedal. It turned the brake light on, and powered up the servo pump(s) depending on which one you pulled.

The only microswitch there is now is for the clutch.
Reply With Quote
The following (3) I-BMW members 'like', thank -or- are 'shouting out' to 'Patrique83' for this post:
  #6  
Old 08-31-2017, 09:14 AM
SlicK1200S SlicK1200S is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 100 Thanks: 683
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

Patrique83, is the switches, or are the the switches on the 06 K1200S normally open or closed? When I disconnect the switch on the front brake, the brake light comes on, but not the pump for the IABS ( Ignnition on). Now I haven't checked the positioning of the rear brake pedal, but the pump sometimes comes on when I operate it. I am assuming that these switches are normally closed, based on the front switch and if not maybe they are conflicting with each other?
__________________
The Lunatic is in my head
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2017, 10:59 AM
Andynj Andynj is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 198 Thanks: 12
Thanked 64 Times in 44 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrique83
There is no brake light switch on K1300 bikes.... (07-08 K1200 / 09-xx K1300)
Not at the handlebar or the footpedal.

The I-ABS 2 Unit has a built in pressure switch that senses when you pull on the
Lever or step on the Footpedal. The ABS then sends a digital signal to the ZFE unit and tells it to turn the brake light on.

Only K1200s 05-06 with servo assisted brakes had a microswitch at the handlebar/footpedal. It turned the brake light on, and powered up the servo pump(s) depending on which one you pulled.

The only microswitch there is now is for the clutch.

Thanks Patrique,

I thought that was the answer but wanted to be sure, which means I don't need to worry about the brake lights when I put on the new master cylinder woohoo

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2017, 06:03 PM
Patrique83's Avatar
Patrique83 Patrique83 is online now
Site Contributor
Post: 572 Thanks: 59
Thanked 289 Times in 186 Posts
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlicK1200S
Patrique83, is the switches, or are the the switches on the 06 K1200S normally open or closed? When I disconnect the switch on the front brake, the brake light comes on, but not the pump for the IABS ( Ignnition on). Now I haven't checked the positioning of the rear brake pedal, but the pump sometimes comes on when I operate it. I am assuming that these switches are normally closed, based on the front switch and if not maybe they are conflicting with each other?

I can't remember right now if the microswitch opens or closes when you pull/push the lever/footpedal.
Regardless, on a servo assisted ABS bike (05-06) the microswitch activates the corresponding pump motor. If you pull the handlever and your pump is turning on (and no ABS Failure light), then your switch is working properly.

My 05 Servo ABS would turn on the pumps by just slightly touching the lever/pedal, way before applying any braking power. If your switch is intermittent or not properly adjusted then you might find yourself one day with residual braking power, because the pumps are not activated and you are now pushing hydraulic fluid with the lever only....

The brake light turning on but not the ABS Servo pump could be a sign that the servo ABS has a fault...

Any ABS warnings?
Does it pass/fail the ABS self diagnistic when ignition on?
Spongy brakes while riding?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2017, 06:36 PM
SlicK1200S SlicK1200S is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 100 Thanks: 683
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

ABS warning Brake Failure light remains on after I move the bike. Spongy brakes? No when it is operating they work as they should, When it is not operating more pressure is required to make the brakes function. I'm certainly not without brakes when the pump motor is not working, just requires more pressure on the pedal and from brake handle. At times it does pass the self diagnostic with the ignition on. More often than not, it fails.
__________________
The Lunatic is in my head
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2017, 06:39 PM
SlicK1200S SlicK1200S is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 100 Thanks: 683
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

My GS911 shows a fault (sometimes) with the front brake micro switch. I'm going to do another test on it and see what it says again
__________________
The Lunatic is in my head
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-31-2017, 06:54 PM
SlicK1200S SlicK1200S is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 100 Thanks: 683
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

my GS911 says the following for fault codes for the ABS:
24971 Pressure Front Wheel Circuit too high;
24972 Pressure Rear Wheel Circuit too high;
25190 Front Brake switch malfunction.
I did a pressure test on the front and rear and it says Front 89 and the rear 22. I am assuming the front micro switch is the issue......
__________________
The Lunatic is in my head
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-2017, 12:42 AM
Patrique83's Avatar
Patrique83 Patrique83 is online now
Site Contributor
Post: 572 Thanks: 59
Thanked 289 Times in 186 Posts
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Re: K1300s Front Brake Switch

89 bar is way too high for the front.
My (non faulty) ABS had 22 bar front, 19 bar rear.

Looks like you are up for a new/used ABS unit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools..
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads (a database pull of similar subject matter)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I unbolt and try to level the front brake fluid reservoir to replace fluid? Keuka "KRS/GT" Technical Q&A 9 07-13-2017 09:40 AM
Front brake adjustment Lucasino666 "KRS/GT" Technical Q&A 1 04-11-2016 09:57 PM
03 k1200GT Front Brake Resevoir dluttmer "KRS/GT" Technical Q&A 5 07-03-2013 06:13 PM
Reduction Of Front Brake Efficiency locus "K12S/KR" Technical Q&A 5 07-02-2009 01:51 PM
adjusting position front brake lever anthonysemone "K12S/KR" Technical Q&A 1 06-16-2008 11:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:56 AM.


I-BMW.com is via vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1998 - 2018, I-BMW.com LLC .
Page generated in 0.55708 seconds with 15 queries