I-BMW.com I-BMW.com

Welcome to the I-BMW.com forums! - You're currently viewing as a limited access guest. By joining our free member supported community, you'll gain access to post/ reply, communicate privately with other members (PM), or globally via "real time chat", respond to polls, upload photos, post classifieds etc. Membership is fast so, Register @ the Ultimate Sport Touring Portal!
Should you not receive an email with activation link, check your SPAM settings or please contact us and include the ID/ email address you registered with.

Go Back   I-BMW.com > BMW K-1300 Series Motorcycles > K1300S > "K13S/R" Technical Q&A
User Name
Password
Home Register Gallery Classifieds FAQ Members List Calendar Donate Mark Forums Read

"K13S/R" Technical Q&A K1200S/R Technical Questions/Answers

Vendor Sign Up | Want to see your name in neon blue? | Want a neat reflective sticker for your ride?!

Reply
 
Thread Tools.. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2013, 04:32 PM
papaed papaed is offline
Has gotten a ticket or two…
Post: 110 Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: madera,, ca usa
Send a message via Skype™ to papaed
Tire pressure sensor

My sensors are off by as much as 8 lbs low and are constantly tripping the warning lite.have checked pressure against multiple gauges to confirm this.Is there a battery in the sensor that powers the signal ? Dealer wants to change them for about $400.00 parts and labor.ridiculous.the rear tire warning won't go off until 45 psi by gauge then the readout is at 37 psi.please do not respond that the gauges are wrong cuz even the dealers gauge reads the same as mine.Anybody ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2013, 06:20 AM
henkpenk's Avatar
henkpenk henkpenk is offline
Twisted Wrister
Post: 592 Thanks: 63
Thanked 220 Times in 129 Posts
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rijnsburg, Holland
Re: Tire pressure sensor

Please note that the TPS warning system re-calculates the number from the sensor to the pressure at 20 Celsius (68 F.) So only at that temperature the TPS value will correspond (more or less) with a seperate gauge.
But I agree, 8 lbs off is a bit too much. Like that $400!
Perhaps you can do part of the work yourself, like taking the wheels off and maybe dismounting the tyres. All thats left for the dealer to do, is replace the sensor batteries (if possible), remount the tyres and have the sensors do the "handshake" procedure with the bike's computer.
Say half an hour shop time?...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2013, 04:07 PM
Beech's Avatar
Beech Beech is online now
I-BMW Rider of the Year 2016
Post: 6,570 Thanks: 1,628
Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,183 Posts
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: mount vernon, WA usa
Re: Tire pressure sensor

Yes there are batteries. Held in with non hardening epoxy. There are threads on removing the epoxy and replacing the batteries, which are soldered to leads. There is a computer sync process the dealer does. I can't remember if the GS-911 does it or not. (Many functions coming on line with Hexcode.) Generally the batteries are good for 5 years or so which is pretty good. I too have an issue with the cost. Cars are mandated to have the system by 2014.
__________________
Beech Arriba, Abajo, Al Centro, Adentro
Mount Vernon Cannon Works
K1300S
S1000R
I need a Vespa
I change your tires, you buy them on the web, I do the work $40, trying to keep riders on the road.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2013, 07:25 PM
7thBeemer 7thBeemer is offline
Always Am!
Post: 589 Thanks: 302
Thanked 92 Times in 83 Posts
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Re: Tire pressure sensor

Yes the GS911 will do the synch thing with the bikes computer but not any kind of calibration. I think it came out in one of the more recent GS911 Beta Software releases. I am not sure if the dealer computer can calibrate the sensors or not?
__________________
2016 R1200GSA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2013, 06:23 AM
henkpenk's Avatar
henkpenk henkpenk is offline
Twisted Wrister
Post: 592 Thanks: 63
Thanked 220 Times in 129 Posts
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rijnsburg, Holland
Re: Tire pressure sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7thBeemer
Yes the GS911 will do the synch thing with the bikes computer but not any kind of calibration. I think it came out in one of the more recent GS911 Beta Software releases. I am not sure if the dealer computer can calibrate the sensors or not?

Check: http://www.i-bmw.com/showthread.php?t=41968
Reply With Quote
This I-BMW member either likes, thanks -or- is 'shouting out' to 'henkpenk' for this post:
Reply


Thread Tools..
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads (a database pull of similar subject matter)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tire pressure setting tonytsai042 "S1000RR" Tires 20 03-28-2013 10:51 PM
Michelin Pilot Road 2 K1300GT Tire Pressure UGLYBUTTUGLY "K13GT" Tire 10 10-13-2010 02:24 AM
ESA Track Day Settings?? asphaltaddict "K12S" Gen. Discussions 33 10-27-2008 02:22 AM
tire pressure - Is my dealer blowing smoke? mkatz "K12S" Tires 30 06-01-2008 05:39 PM
from Harley to GT- what am I in for? dukethedog "K12GT" Gen. Discussions 78 04-25-2007 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 AM.


I-BMW.com is via vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2018, I-BMW.com LLC .
Page generated in 0.41483 seconds with 15 queries