I-BMW.com I-BMW.com

Welcome to the I-BMW.com forums! - You're currently viewing as a limited access guest. By joining our free member supported community, you'll gain access to post/ reply, communicate privately with other members (PM), or globally via "real time chat", respond to polls, upload photos, post classifieds etc. Membership is fast so, Register @ the Ultimate Sport Touring Portal!
Should you not receive an email with activation link, check your SPAM settings or please contact us and include the ID/ email address you registered with.

Go Back   I-BMW.com > BMW K-1300 Series Motorcycles > K1300S > "K13S/R" Technical Q&A
User Name
Password
Home Register Gallery Classifieds FAQ Members List Calendar Donate Mark Forums Read

"K13S/R" Technical Q&A K1200S/R Technical Questions/Answers

Vendor Sign Up | Want to see your name in neon blue? | Want a neat reflective sticker for your ride?!

Reply
 
Thread Tools.. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2013, 07:22 PM
mikegio78's Avatar
mikegio78 mikegio78 is offline
Entering the on-ramp
Post: 49 Thanks: 42
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Clinton, CT United State
Send a message via Skype™ to mikegio78
Power Commander

I just started using a GS-911 device and got the error code 10011 about the Lambda Sensor heating circuit. I did some research and people said that it is due to my power commander. Is a power commander a good thing to have or is the fact that it takes the O2 sensors out of the closed detrimental?
__________________
Mike G

'13 K1600GT
'04 K1200 RS
'12 Harley Davidson Road King Classic

'11 K1300S (gone)
'81 Yamaha XS650 (long ago)
'77 Yamaha RD250(even longer ago)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2013, 07:27 PM
jargon's Avatar
jargon jargon is offline
Deplorable and Still Rides
Post: 9,176 Thanks: 6,064
Thanked 2,783 Times in 2,055 Posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NJ, U S A
Re: Power Commander

Mike, I didn't understand a word you said, but if you bought the unit from Ted Porter, I'm sure he'd answer your question. Even if you didn't buy it there, I'm sure he'd answer it. He's a great resource, and will be my first choice to buy from, if I need what he has. I have bought Wilbers and the 911 tool from him, and he was just great to deal with.

http://www.beemershop.com/
__________________
John

Don’t confuse me for someone who Gives a Fuck

‘Narcissism is the gift for the unhappy few.’ Unknown


Current Bikes-The Perfect Combination
'15 R12GSAW 'The I-BMW Pussy Bike'
'09 K1300S 'fits me like a glove' with Wilbers
Handy Motorcycle Lift

Past Bikes
'04 K1200RS with Ohlins (traded for GSA)
'11 F800R (traded for GSA)
Reply With Quote
The following (2) I-BMW members 'like', thank -or- are 'shouting out' to 'jargon' for this post:
  #3  
Old 08-11-2013, 07:55 PM
allikanbe's Avatar
allikanbe allikanbe is offline
Site Contributor
Post: 2,943 Thanks: 20
Thanked 128 Times in 100 Posts
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yorktown, VA USA
Re: Power Commander

The PC is a great thing to have. Installing it requires the sensor to be disconnected either at the pipe or at the electricial end. I guess you would get an error code because of that.
__________________
07 BMW K12S (cosmic blue/titan silver) PCIII, Ohlins
Reply With Quote
This I-BMW member either likes, thanks -or- is 'shouting out' to 'allikanbe' for this post:
  #4  
Old 08-11-2013, 08:02 PM
hgp3's Avatar
hgp3 hgp3 is offline
Site Contributor
Post: 564 Thanks: 494
Thanked 59 Times in 47 Posts
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: upper black eddy, PA United State
Re: Power Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegio78
I just started using a GS-911 device and got the error code 10011 about the Lambda Sensor heating circuit. I did some research and people said that it is due to my power commander. Is a power commander a good thing to have or is the fact that it takes the O2 sensors out of the closed detrimental?

That is in the PCV instructions, unhook the oxy senser so it doesn't fight the map.
H
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2013, 08:08 PM
brucev's Avatar
brucev brucev is online now
Administrator
Post: 14,982 Thanks: 4,409
Thanked 5,435 Times in 3,153 Posts
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: W MASS, USA
Re: Power Commander

Mike:

PC is a great fuel management tool. As others have stated you are getting the error code because the 02 sensor has been disconnected. Putting aside that you are reading the code does the bike run well? If it does then you are good to go.

The PC lets you customize your fueling delivery based on what it is you want and what you have for equipment on the bike - exhaust - intake - you get the idea.
__________________
Bruce

16 S1000RR-Black (Track Only)
16 R3-Black (Track Only)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:13 AM
mikegio78's Avatar
mikegio78 mikegio78 is offline
Entering the on-ramp
Post: 49 Thanks: 42
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Clinton, CT United State
Send a message via Skype™ to mikegio78
Re: Power Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by brucev
Mike:

PC is a great fuel management tool. As others have stated you are getting the error code because the 02 sensor has been disconnected. Putting aside that you are reading the code does the bike run well? If it does then you are good to go.

The PC lets you customize your fueling delivery based on what it is you want and what you have for equipment on the bike - exhaust - intake - you get the idea.

Thanks Bruce. The bike runs awesome. After reading about the whole O2 sensor/fuel mix stuff when I saw the error code (actually pretty interesting engineering) I got spooked. I will leave the PC in line and the O2 sensors unhooked--if it ain't broke don't fix it.
__________________
Mike G

'13 K1600GT
'04 K1200 RS
'12 Harley Davidson Road King Classic

'11 K1300S (gone)
'81 Yamaha XS650 (long ago)
'77 Yamaha RD250(even longer ago)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2013, 05:16 AM
mikegio78's Avatar
mikegio78 mikegio78 is offline
Entering the on-ramp
Post: 49 Thanks: 42
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Clinton, CT United State
Send a message via Skype™ to mikegio78
Re: Power Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by allikanbe
The PC is a great thing to have. Installing it requires the sensor to be disconnected either at the pipe or at the electricial end. I guess you would get an error code because of that.

That's exactly right. The "closed loop" required for the sensors is gone and disconnected in order to have the power commander. Bike runs awesome with it on there (it came that way from person I bought it from) I won't remove it.
__________________
Mike G

'13 K1600GT
'04 K1200 RS
'12 Harley Davidson Road King Classic

'11 K1300S (gone)
'81 Yamaha XS650 (long ago)
'77 Yamaha RD250(even longer ago)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools..
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads (a database pull of similar subject matter)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Commander III questions artmerl1 "KRS/GT" Technical Q&A 7 02-29-2012 06:36 PM
Power Commander V ffearless "K13S/R" Technical Q&A 8 08-24-2010 11:13 PM
Power Commander and % Throttle brentboshart "K12S/KR" Technical Q&A 33 05-11-2009 08:21 AM
Power commander Ericson "KRS/GT" Gen. Discussions 1 02-13-2007 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


I-BMW.com is via vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1998 - 2018, I-BMW.com LLC .
Page generated in 0.50703 seconds with 15 queries